Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Duesenberg’s inducted into Iowa Racing Hall of Fame

The Duesenberg name is one known widely around Garner. In fact, the town’s yearly celebration, Duesey Days, is named after the famed family.

On Monday, it was announced that Frederick and August Duesenberg will be inducted as part of the initial class of the Iowa Racing Hall of Fame.

According to a publication by David Holmgren for the Biographical Dictionary of Iowa through the University of Iowa Press, the Duesenberg family immigrated to the United States in 1885, and settled in Rockford. Frederick opened a bicycle shop in the early 1890s in Rockford, and then August opened his own in Garner shortly after.

The two began experimenting putting motors on their bicycles, and then their careers took off from there.

They moved to Des Moines in 1905, designed an automobile called The Mason, and after Maytag bought the company, the Duesenbergs headed up to St. Paul, Minnesota, to found the Duesenberg Automobile & Motors Company. That’s when they started building engines and racecars. Their cars went on to win three Indianapolis 500s in the early 1920s, and 1931, a Duesenberg car became the first Amer0can-made car to win the Monte Carlo Grand Prix.

After selling the plants and moving to Indiana in 1920, the brothers went on the design luxury cars for Cord and Auburn automobiles.

Frederick died after being badly injured in an auto accident in 1932, and August passed away of a heart attack in 1955.

Thirty-seven Iowa motorsports legends will be inducted into the first Iowa Hall of Fame and Racing Museum, Inc., Saturday, March 24, in Webster City.

The event will begin with a meal at 6 p.m., followed by induction ceremonies at 7 p.m. and is open to the public. It will be held at the new Hamilton County Events Center at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds.


St. Ansgar 64, Lake Mills 60

LAKE MILLS — Collin Kramer poured in 24 points Monday to lead St. Ansgar to a 64-60 win over Lake Mills.

Erik Gerdts added 16 points for the Saints and Ethan Kirchgatter scored 12.

Caleb Bacon led the Bulldogs with 24 points and Trevor Hanna tossed in 12.


Sports Reporter

Load comments