Try 3 months for $3
Clear Lake vs Garner-Hayfield-Ventura 09-07-2018 (14).jpg

Clear Lake's Drew Enke (81) was one of 11 Lions selected to the Class 2A District 3 First Team in 2018. 

Class 2A was home to some of the most electric players in North Iowa. Five area schools (Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, Algona, Clear Lake, Hampton-Dumont and Forest City) were in Class 2A Districts 2 and 3. Many names from these teams were honored for remarkable seasons. Here's a look at the players who are represented.

Class 2A District 2

Offensive MVP: Wyatt Wegener, Algona

Defensive MVP: Kyler Fisher, Southeast Valley

Lineman MVP: Cole Lewis, Algona

Head Coach of the Year: Mike Swieter, Southeast Valley

Assistant Coach of the Year: Todd VanOtterloo, Algona


Connor Jensen, Spirit Lake

Matt Grein, Algona

Running back

Kyler Fisher, Southeast Valley

Jace Pringnitz, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Briar Rowley, Estherville Lincoln Central

Jaace Weidermann, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows

Jacob Durant, Algona

Offensive line

Clayton McFarland, Southeast Valley

Gavin Meints, Algona

Caleb Larsen, Algona

Evan Burrell, Spirit Lake

Garrett Vugteveen, Spirit Lake

Tyler Nielsen, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Jon Erdmann, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Cole Dakin, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Jesse Wolfe, Estherville Lincoln Central

Wide receiver/Tight end

Chase Swieter, Southeast Valley

Wyatt Wegener, Algona

Joe Stein, Spirit Lake

Nyles Johnson, Southeast Valley

Spencer Holmes, Algona


Hunter Kruse, Southeast Valley

Skyler Groen, Algona

Kolby Richter, Spirit Lake

Kyler Rieck, Spirit Lake

Jared Shaw, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Morgan Dostal, Estherville Lincoln Central

Nate Rapp, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows

Defensive Line

Cole Lewis, Algona

Hunter Long, Algona

Aaron Graves, Southeast Valley

Brian Egeland, Estherville Lincoln Central

Greg Will, Spirit Lake

Dakoda Powell, Spirit Lake


Ben Newman, Spirit Lake

JJ Graves, Southeast Valley

Zach Graves, Southeast Valley

Carson Devine, Algona

Garrett Schmidt, Algona

Joe Pringnitz, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Brock Gouge, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura

Keegan Brown, Estherville Lincoln Central

Defensive back

Cole Johnson, Algona

Spencer Newman, Spirit Lake

Holden Larson, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura


Landon Dalbeck, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura


Ben Steffens, Spirit Lake

Class 2A District 3

Offensive MVP: Jaylen DeVries, Clear Lake

Defensive MVP: Tate Storbeck, Clear Lake

Lineman MVP: Noah Fenske, New Hampton

Coach of the Year: Skip Eckhardt, Crestwood

First Team


Jaylen DeVries, Clear Lake

Jon Henry, Crestwood

Running back

Kyler Hadwiger, Iowa Falls-Alden

Jaden O'Brien-Green, Clear Lake

Tristan Sweitzer, New Hampton

Reece Wilson, Crestwood


Nick Danielson, Clear Lake

Drew Enke, Clear Lake

Tanner Lane, New Hampton

Zack Lane, Crestwood

Karson Sharar, Iowa Falls-Alden

Offensive line

Kody Berns, Crestwood

McKade Eisentrager, Iowa Falls-Alden

Noah Fenske, New Hampton

Jared Penning, Clear Lake

Dalton Scheidel, Crestwood

Cameron Sobolik, Crestwood

Ryan Thomas, Clear Lake

Defensive line

Dalton Chipp, Hampton-Dumont

Wyatt Folkerts, Hampton-Dumont

Frank Hrdlicka, Crestwood

Austin Larson, Clear Lake

Dillon Roberson, New Hampton

Wyatt Scheidel, Crestwood


Carter Ferrie, New Hampton

Keegan Kane, New Hampton

Mason Peter, Crestwood

Tate Storbeck, Clear Lake

Chase Stuver, Clear Lake

Bryer Thompson, Crestwood

Defensive back

Logan Albert, Crestwood

Jack Barragy, Clear Lake

Mason Cleveland, New Hampton

Gabe Rivera, Hampton-Dumont

Shane Vokaty, Crestwood


Carter Henry, Crestwood

Kody Kearns, Clear Lake

Harry Kitchen, Crestwood

Dustin Miller, Hampton-Dumont

Evan Rosonke, New Hampton


Lukas Smith, Hampton-Dumont


Austin Hemann, New Hampton

Ivan Orozco, Iowa Falls-Alden

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reach Sports Reporter Luke A. Garza at 641-421-0540 or follow him on Twitter @LukeAGarza


Sports Reporter

Load comments