Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Top of Iowa announces All-Conference teams

Top of Iowa announces All-Conference teams


With the playoffs underway in Iowa high school sports, postseason honors have started to be announced.

On Tuesday, the Top of Iowa announced its All-Conference Basketball teams, along with players and coaches of the year. 

St. Ansgar girls basketball vs Osage - Johnson

Osage senior Dani Johnson (22) was named Top of Iowa Conference West Division Player of the Year, along with St. Ansgar's Hali Anderson.

On the girls side, Bishop Garrigan sophomore Audi Crooks won the West Division Player of the Year, while Osage's Dani Johnson and St. Ansgar's Hali Anderson won co-players of the year honors in the East. 

On the boys side, Bishop Garrigan's Angelo Winkel was named TIC West Player of the year, while Coach of the Year went to Lake Mills coach Kyle Menke, who has led his team to a perfect 22-0 regular season.

In the East, longtime West Fork skipper Frank Schnoes won the honor after his team went a perfect 15-0 in conference play. 

Top of Iowa Boys All-Conference Teams


First Team

Austin Bienemann, Sr., Nashua-Plainfield

Doug Taylor, Soph., Newman Catholic

Eric Bobinet, Sr., Osage

Eric Bobinet - Osage boys basketball

Osage's Eric Bobinet (3) runs up for a shot against North Butler at a home game on Jan. 26.

Nathan Havel, Jr., Osage

Justice Jones, Sr., Rockford

Kayden Ames, Sr., West Fork

Jakob Washington, Sr., West Fork

Second Team

Angel Jose, Jr., Central Springs

Max Burt, Soph., Newman Catholic

James Jennings, Jr., Newman Catholic

Kaleb Salge, Sr., North Butler

Caden Roberts, Sr., Northwood-Kensett

Tyler Oberfoell, Jr., Osage

Ryan Cole, Sr., St. Ansgar

Cail Weaver, Sr., West Fork

Honorable Mention

Drew Kelley, Jr., Central Springs

Bo Harrington, Soph., Nashua-Plainfield

James Matthews, Sr., Newman Catholic

Corbin Lewis, Soph., North Butler

Kael Julseth, Sr., Northwood-Kensett

Max Knudsen, Fr., Osage

Kolton Lyman, Jr., Rockford

Braden Powers, Sr., St. Ansgar

Joe Ingham, Sr., West Fork

Player of the Year: Austin Bienemann, Nashua-Plainfield

Coach of the Year: Frank Schnoes, West Fork


First Team

Angelo Winkel, Sr., Bishop Garrigan

Noah Miller, Sr., Forest City

Kevin Meyers, Sr., GHV

Zach Suby, Sr., GHV

Caleb Bacon, Sr., Lake Mills

Dashawn Linnen, Sr., Lake Mills

B/GBBall Lake Mills vs. GHV 2

Lake Mills senior Dashawn Linnen takes a jumper from the lane against Garner-Hayfield-Ventura  at Lake Mills on Dec. 18. 

Dominyk Price, Sr., North Iowa

Second Team

Carson Lane, Sr., Belmond-Klemme

Kyle Schaaf, Sr., Bishop Garrigan

Andrew Snyder, Jr., Forest City

Hayden Hutcheson, Sr., GHV

Wyatt Helming, Jr., Lake Mills

Cayson Barnes, Sr., West Hancock

Rylan Barnes, Soph., West Hancock

Honorable Mention

Kaleb Carlson, Sr., Belmond-Klemme

Joseph Meis, Sr., Bishop Garrigan

Chase Mason, Sr., Eagle Grove

Carter Bruckhoff, Jr., Forest City

Brody Boehnke, Sr., GHV

Bennett Berger, Jr., Lake Mills

Logan Sabin, Jr., North Iowa

Gage Madden, Sr., North Union

Braden Walk, Jr., West Hancock

Player of the Year: Angelo Winkel, Bishop Garrigan

State Finals Bishop Garrigan 6

Bishop Garrigan junior Angelo Winkel was named TIC West Player of the year.

Coach of the Year: Kyle Menke, Lake Mills

Top of Iowa Girls All-Conference Teams


First Team

Breanna Hackman, Jr., Nashua-Plainfield

Dani Johnson, Sr., Osage

Ellie Bobinet, Sr., Osage

Hali Anderson, Sr., St. Ansgar

Brooklyn Hackbart, Sr., St. Ansgar

Gracie Urbatsch, Sr., St. Ansgar

Emma Martinek, Soph. West Fork

GBBall St. Ansgar vs. Osage 5

St. Ansgar senior Hali Anderson, along with Osage senior Dani Johnson (22),  were named Top of Iowa Conference West Division Players of the Year.

Second Team

Alivea Harms, Jr., Central Springs

Jennah Carpenter, Jr., Nashua-Plainfield

Kealan Curley, Sr., Newman Catholic

Madison Clipperton, Sr., North Butler

Samantha Brandau, Soph., Osage

Madison Hillman, Soph., St. Ansgar

Adrianna Kruse, Jr., St. Ansgar

Rylie Akins, Soph., West Fork

Honorable Mention

Kaylea Fessler, Jr., Central Springs

Chloe Matthews, Sr., Nashua-Plainfield

Molly McGuire, Sr., Newman Catholic

Meg Thompson, Jr., North Butler

Carly Hengesteg, Sr., Northwood-Kensett

Kaebre Sullivan, Jr., Osage

Gabby Keith, Sr., Rockford

Taylor Hanna, Sr., St. Ansgar

Maddie Hubka, Jr., West Fork

Co-Players of the Year: Dani Johnson, Osage; Hali Anderson, St. Ansgar

Co-Coaches of the Year: Chad Erickson, Osage; Scott Cakerice, St. Ansgar


First Team

Audi Crooks, Soph., Bishop Garrigan

Molly Joyce, Soph., Bishop Garrigan

Kaylyn Meyers, Sr., Bishop Garrigan

Shae Dillavou, Jr., Forest City

Chloe Frank, Jr., GHV

Kennedy Kelly, Jr., West Hancock

Rachel Leerar, Sr., West Hancock

Second Team

Addison McMurray, Sr., Belmond-Klemme

Ellie Caylor, Sr., Forest City

Kaylee Miller, Sr., Forest City

Jayden Frank, Sr., GHV

Liz Richardson, Jr., GHV

Sam Nielsen, Jr., North Union

Vanessa Von Bank. Sr., North Union

Honorable Mention

Jennah Meyer, Jr., Belmond-Klemme

Abbie Capesius, Fr., Bishop Garrigan

Lea Friedl, Sr., Eagle Grove

Hannah Good, Sr., Forest City

Morgan Ryerson, Sr., GHV

Ella Stene, Soph., Lake Mills

Emma Duve, Jr., North Iowa

Olivia Von Bank, Soph., North Union

Mallory Leerar, Fr., West Hancock

Player of the Year: Audi Crooks, Bishop Garrigan

Coach of the Year: Merle Tigges, North Union

Our environment: Winter 2020-2021

From local species, to historic low temperatures, to water quality updates, revisit seasonal coverage of the land we live on:

Shane Lantz covers sports for the Globe Gazette. You can reach him at, or by phone at 641-421-0526. Follow Shane on Twitter @ShaneMLantz. 


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News