MASON CITY | Bill Schickel won election to his fourth term as mayor Tuesday night, defeating challengers Colleen Niedermayer and Alex Klein.

With complete but unofficial results, Schickel had 4,173 votes, 59.2 percent to Niedermayer witth 2,367 votes, 33.6 percent and Klein 485, 6.9 percent. There were 28 write-in votes.

Schickel was pleased with his victory but especially happy about the approval of two public issues on the ballot.

"I am so excited for Mason City and the River City Renaissance project," he said. "I'm so proud of the young people who turned out and made such a positive message."

Schickel said he is honored by his win and said he received congratulatory calls from both Niedermayer and Klein.

"I want to congratulate them on their good and positive campaigns. I want them both to be part of my `kitchen cabinet' in my administration."

Schickel was first elected mayor in 1989. He was elected again in 1997 and 2001. He resigned during his third term after being elected to the State Legislature where he served three terms.

There will be runoffs in two council elections.

In the Second Ward, the leading vote-getter was Will Symonds with 690 votes, 42.7 percent. He will be in a runoff with Troy Levenhagen, who finished second with 574 votes, 35.5 percent. Finishing third was Lionel Foster with 348 votes, 21.5 percent.

In the Fourth Ward, John Jaszewski and Matt Marquardt will be in a runoff. Jaszewski had 515 votes, 32.8 percent to Marquardt's 464 votes, 29.5 percent. Other contenders were Jack Leaman, 345, 22 percent and Phillip Sanchez, 241 votes, 15.3 percent.

For the at-large council position, Tom Thoma, running unopposed, received 5,715 votes.

With the one precinct still to report, voter turnout was 6,885 of 19,126 registered voters or 36 percent.

The runoff will be Dec. 5.

Clear Lake

In Clear Lake, there were two contested elections.

In Ward Two, Bennett Smith defeated incumbent Tony Nelson and challenger Ben Smith. Bennett Smith received 184 votes to Nelson's 147 and Ben Smith's 51.

In the at-large race, Dana Brant defeated incumbent Gary Hugi, 568 to 343.

Mayor Nelson Crabb ran unopposed for re-election.