Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Let the campaigns begin: Candidates file for city offices

  • 0

Filings for city elections have closed — so let the campaigns begin.

In addition to the closely watched races in Mason City where three City Council members will be elected, Clear Lake will have more of a walk than a run.

In Clear Lake, incumbents Michael Callanan and Terry Unsworth will seek new terms in uncontested at-large races while Jim Boenke in the Third Ward and Dana Brant in the First Ward also are unopposed.

Here are other filings. Some counties did not respond to requests for candidate information on Friday    (* indicates incumbent). 


Clear Lake

Council at-large: Michael E. Callanan*.

Council at-large to fill a vacancy: Terry Unsworth*.

Council, Third Ward: Jim Boehnke.

Council, First Ward: Dana Brant.  


Council at-large: Ronald J. Schissel*.

Council at-large: Joel S. Rooney*.

Council at-large: Susan M. O’Brien*.

Mason City

Council at-large (vote for one): Jose D. Barragan Jr., Alex Kuhn, Sandra E. Servantez.

Council, First Ward (vote for one): Tim Latham and John Lee.

Council, Third Ward (vote for one): Jean E. Marinos and Max F. Weaver*.

Park Board: Craig Binnebose.


Mayor: Richard M. Miller.*

Council at-large: Joey Dickman*.


Council at-large: Eric Abundis.

Council at-large: Cecil W. Kuhlers*.

Council at-large, to fill a vacancy: Howard E. Berman*.

Council at-large, to fill a vacancy: Craig Howard.

Rock Falls

Council at-large, to fill a vacancy: Donald C. Bannan*.

Council at-large: Doug Heimer*.

Council at-large: Jodi Wyborny*.


Mayor: Steve Karabatsos. 

Council at-large: Michael G. Flatness*.

Council at-large: Paul Gossweiler.

Council at-large: David Laudner*.


Council at-large: John L Bonner*.

Council at-large: Roger Myhre Jr.

Council at large: Laura Starbuck.

Council at-large: Marjorie Swenson*.


Mayor: Joy Baker*.

Council at-large: Barry Groh*.

Council at-large: Betty Jensen.

Council at-large: Michael Younge*.


Council at-large: Darwin R. Avery*.

Council at-large: John Quintus*.

Council at-large: Michael Thackery*.



Mayor: James L. Nelson*.

Council (vote for three): Bryan D. Aitchison*, Curt Gast*, Gary Gelner*,  Dwight Allen Leerar


Mayor : James Gourley*.

Council (vote for three): Wade Nall*,  Michael Petersen*, Tim Poage, Sharon Spellins, Craig Steenhard*.

Crystal Lake

Mayor: Jeffrey A. LoGalbo.*

Council (vote for three): Laura Blocker, Samantha Corsaro, Russell Helm*.


Council (vote for two): Deb Schmidt*, Lynn B. Smith.


Mayor: Ryan Halfpop, Wayne L. Mason*.

Council (vote for two): Alan Pralle*, Terry Zeigler*.


Mayor: Terry Johnson*, Murray Quastad, Jim Sherwood, Judy Vander Ploeg.

Council (vote for two): Ray Bassett*, Tom G. Gretillat Sr., Sherrie Lyn Johnson, Michelle Wade*.


Mayor: Ken Blank*, Robert C. Martin Sr.

Council (vote for two): David Abele, Travis Baker, Randy Black, Morris Crotty, Betty L. Davis, Patti Hanson, Trixy Miller.


Mayor: Kathy A. Brown*.

Council (vote for two) Collin Fjetland*.

Mitchell County


Mayor: No filings.

Council (vote for five): No filings.


Mayor: No filings.

Council (five seats open): Cheryl Schlampp* and Ron Schneider*.


Council (vote for two):  Tony Huebsch*, Randy Kamp*.

Council, two-year term to fill unexpired term: Jesse Fischer*.


Mayor: No filings.

Council positions (three openings): No filings.


Mayor – Steve Cooper*.

Council at large: Kurt Elliott.

First Ward Council: Judy Voaklander.

Third Ward Council: Brian R. Adam*.

Park Board Commissioner: Shelley Parks.

Public measure: 

Question: “Shall the city of Osage, in the county of Mitchell, State of Iowa, be authorized to change the composition of the Board of Trustees of the Osage Public Library which currently consists of six resident members and one nonresident member, as follows: The Board of Trustees of the Library, hereinafter referred to as the Board, shall consist of seven  members with a minimum of four but no more than six resident members and a minimum of one but no more than three nonresident members. All resident members are to be appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. 

“All nonresident members are to be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the county Board of Supervisors.” 

St. Ansgar

Mayor: David W. Tollefson*.

Council (vote for three): Gerald D. Beaver*, Jason Squier, William K. Squier.


Council (vote for three): Walter Carter*, Roger Hemann*, Amanda Skjeie.


Mayor: Dean Eastman.

Council (vote for two): Bob Foss* and Mark A. Patrick*.

Council to finish an unexpired term: Michelle M. Richardson*.

Winnebago County

Buffalo Center

Mayor – Troy Armstrong.

Council: Don West, Bill Jensvold and Marty Schaefer.

Forest City 

Mayor: Rick Skjeie and Kathryn Kay Sorensen.

Council: Suzanne T. Murphy and Jerome V. Clouse.

Two at-large council seats have no candidates.

Park Board: Todd D. Dakken, Paul Oulman. Mary Beth Anzivino-Barnes and Gaylord H. Wooge.

Lake Mills

Mayor: David E. Steffenson and Duane J. Skellenger.

Council: Bill Clark, Anthony P. Sorenson and Stephanie Steffens. 


Mayor: James Ambroson.

Council: Susan Krein, Melanie Ambroson and Mary Johnson.


Council: Jeff Steele and Carla Langfald.


Mayor: Louise Hagedorn.

Council: Mary James, John Brudvig and Robert Joynt.


Mayor: Robert W. Johnson.

Council: Stacy Willert, Dave Chapman and Jeff Hughes.

Worth County


Mayor: Joyce Russell *.

Council (vote for two): Jeffrey E. Berg*, Julie Jessen, Cindy Peters*.


Mayor: Les Anderson, John Bork* and Jeffrey L. Jessen.

Council (vote for five): Cory Hicken, Tyler Johanns*, Tom Kruger* and Gary Schotanus*.


Mayor: No filings.

Council (vote for five): David A. Fulton*, Sarah Hagen*, Jacob Jackson*, Robert Michaelis*, Jody Moretz*.


Mayor: Mark Thoma*.

Council (vote for three): Jon Heintzman* and Ron Miller*.


Council (vote for three): Dorothy Bratrud*, Denise Ehlenfeldt*, David Heiken* and Kris Woltzen.


Mayor: Tim O’Keefe*.

Council (vote for two): Scott A. Heagel* and Joseph Ryan.


Council (vote for three): Jane Bloomingdale*, Teresa George* and Gary A. Nerlien*.



Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News