Outstanding performance

Zachary Duren and Katelyn Halbach were chosen as outstanding event at music contest.

CRESCO | The Osage High School Instrumental and Vocal Music Departments received Division I ratings for 44 of the 84 of its entries in the Iowa High School Music Association Solo and Ensemble Contest held on Saturday, March 30 at Crestwood High School.

In addition, 37 entries received Division II ratings and three entries received a Division III rating.

One entry was selected as outstanding event - a vocal duet with Katelyn Halbach and Zach Duren.

Osage High School music directors are Jeff Kirkpatrick, bands, and Laurie Hoeppner, vocal music. Accompanists were Krista Koschmeder, Jean Miller, Kelli Miller and Marlene Norby.

The following students received Division I ratings for instrumental solos - Emma Adams, Ryan Adams, Nathan Berge, Gavin Carson, Rhett Ham, Halle Huebsch, Clarissa Huisman, Emily Maliszewski, Rafe Miller, Erica Nasstrom, Chase Nicholson, Seth Phillips, Jenna Plotzke, Sammi Scharper, Victoria Schwarting, Talia Stangel, and Makaya Tucke. Emma Blaha, Megan Breon, Zach Duren, Joan Grimm, Katelyn Halbach, Rafe Miller, Makayla Mostek, Erica Nasstrom, Victoria Schwarting and Sydney Winter received a Division I rating for their vocal solos.

The following students received Division II ratings for instrumental solos - Macie Adams, Melanie Bye, Makayla Eagen, Payton Felper, Mathew Johnson, Kaylee Klaes, Mary Miller, Katelyn Mostek, Makayla Mostek, Brianna Niemeyer, Grace Patrick, Joey Potter, Samuel Reams, Kelsi Scribner, Ella Smith, Wesley Smith, Kaebre Sullvian, Alex Swenson, Lauren Swenson, Andrew Thyer, Coryssa Tucke, Gwen Voaklander, Zoe Wynohrad, and Bailee Zobeck. Melanie Bye, Sawyer Chisholm, and Chase Halbach received a Division II rating for their vocal solos.

Addyson Grimm and Jacob Potter received a Division III for their instrumental solos.

The following ensembles received Division I ratings - Flute Trio A, Clarinet Quartet, Saxophone Quartet, Woodwind Quintet B, Brass Quintet, Percussion Choir, Vocal Duet (Erica Nasstrom & Rafe Miller), Vocal Duet (Katelyn Halbach & Zach Duren), Vocal Duet (Joan Grimm & Sydney Winter), Triple Trio A, Triple Trio B, Triple Trio C, Double Quartet, Quartet A, Quartet C, Bass Clef Chamber Choir and Mixed Chamber Choir.

The following ensembles received Division II ratings - Flute Trio B, Woodwind Quintet A, Woodwind Choir, Vocal Duet (Erica Nasstrom & Seth Phillips), Vocal Duet (Melanie Bye & Zach Duren), Vocal Duet (Makayla Mostek & Chase Halbach), Treble Clef Ensemble D, Quartet B, Trio E, and Treble Clef Chamber Choir.

The following ensembles received Division III rating - Trio D.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments