Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Mitchell County primary election unofficial results

Mitchell County primary election unofficial results

Proposed voter districts in Mitchell County

 New voting districts in Mitchell County.

With five spots opening up on the Mitchell County Board of Supervisors, more people were able to run, including two districts where there were contested races on Tuesday.

District 1 

There were no Republican or Democratic candidates for the District 1 County Supervisor seat. There were 45 write-ins for a Republican candidate and 31 write-ins for a Democratic candidate. None of the names for the write-ins have been released yet. District 1 covers a portion of Osage. 

Dave Stauffer recently wrote in a recent letter to the editor to the Press News that he intends to mount a write-in campaign for the District 1 seat. 

District 2 

Jim Wherry

Jim Wherry is running to be on the Mitchell County Supervisor's Board. 

Jim Wherry defeated Al Winters for the District 2 seat with Wherry receiving 212 votes and Winters receiving 65. There were no Republican write-ins for District 2. District 2 covers part of Osage. 

Al Winters


There were no Democratic candidates on the June 2 ballot, but there were 39 unnamed write-in votes. 

District 3

No one put their name in to go up against District 3's incumbent Republican supervisor Steve Smolik. Smolik won 101 votes and there was one write-in vote. 

Steve Smolik


District 3 covers the eastern side of Mitchell County, which covers Riceville. 

No Democrats filed for candidacy in District 3, but there were ten write-in votes. 

District 4 

District 4 serves the area surrounding Stacyville.

Republican Michael Mayer won the District 4 seat uncontested. 137 people voted for him, and there were two write-ins. 

Michael Mayer

Michael Mayer is one of six candidates running for the Mitchell County Supervisors Board. 

There were no Democrats on the ballot, but there were 14 write-ins. 

District 5

Mark Morley Hendrickson

Mark Morley Hendrickson is running for the Mitchell County Supervisors Board in District 5. 

Gary Fossey and Mark Morley Hendrickson ran against each other in District 5 in St. Ansgar. Hendrickson took a 142-77 lead over Fossey. There were no Republican write-ins for the district. 

Gary Fossey

Gary Fossey is running for the Mitchell County Supervisors Board District 5 seat. 

No Democrats filed for candidacy in this district, but there were 14 write-ins. 

County Auditor 

Barring any new challengers, current Republican Deputy Auditor Rachel Foster is the  new auditor, replacing Lowell Tesch, who did not run for re-election. Foster won 836 votes, while there were five write-in votes. 

There were no Democrats on the ballot. 76 write-in votes were reported. 

County Sheriff 

Incumbent Greg Beaver retains his position as the county's sheriff. He did so with 885 votes to seven write-in votes. 

Democrats did not have anyone on the ballot, but they did provide 75 write-in votes. 


At the state level, Waylon Brown ran unopposed on the GOP side for state Senate District 26 and won with 805 votes. A single write-in vote opposed him. 

 Incumbent State Representative  Jane Bloomingdale (R) received the same amount of votes as Brown (805-1). She will face Democrat Jane Podgorniak for the state House District 51 seat in November. 

Podporniak won 576 votes with six write-in votes opposing her. 

On the Democratic Senate side 117 write-in votes were cast. Deb Scharper recently announced her candidacy, but she will not be on the ballot until November. 


Incumbent Republican Senator Joni Ernst won her election with 819 votes and only five write-in votes opposing her. 

On the Democratic side Theresa Greenfield had a landslide victory with a 449 majority. Greenfield: 449 – Franken: 103 – Graham: 53 – Mauro: 39 Write-in: 7 Woods: 6. 

In the House of Representatives race Republican Ashley Hinson had 522 votes and Thomas Hansen had 263. There was one write-in.  

Incumbent Representative Abby Finkenauer won with 605 votes and only four write-in votes against her. 

The general election is on Nov. 3.


Molly Adamson covers Mitchell County for the Mitchell County Press News. You can reach her at or by phone at 515-508-1134. Follow Molly on Twitter at @OsageEditor.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News