Try 1 month for 99¢

The Winnebago and Hancock county auditor's offices, along with other county auditors offices in Iowa, have supervised their first post-election audits. 

Under a new state law designed to monitor and protect election processes, three citizens from each county form an audit board to hand count ballots from either the presidential or gubernatorial race in one randomly-selected precinct after the general election to see if the results match those recorded on election night. 

Both Winnebago County Auditor Karla Weiss and Hancock County Auditor Michelle Eisenmann reported the results were a perfect match. 

The new law is a response to concerns about hacking, Weiss said in a news release.

"Since election computers are not connected to the internet, hacking would be nearly impossible," she said. 

"This new law should strengthen the confidence Winnebago County voters have in the integrity of the election process," she added. 

Members of the Winnebago County Post-Election Audit Board were Larry Rasmussen, Bonnie Iverson and Jan Buffington. 

Serving on the Hancock County board were Jolene Leerar, Rene Abels and Sue Bruxvoort. 

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


Load comments