West Hancock High School boys track team

The 2019 West Hancock High School boys track team. (first row, from left) Jennifer Gomez-Alonzo, Josef Smith, Lucas Weiland, Caleb Eckels, Coach Matt Welp, Gavin Becker, Bennett Bruns, Brayden Leerar and Jennifer Saavedra. (second row) Ty Peterson, Parker Feuring, Victor Camarena, Hector Nino, Tate Hagen, Brody Cox, Chandler Redenius, Josh Stromer and Levi Eckels. (third row) Avonte Ward, Ben Martinez, Cole Schisel, Bryer Subject, Tanner Hagen, Tristan Hunt, Tanner Thompson, Cole Kelly, Kane Zuehl and Parker Means. (fourth row) Collin Ford, Nate Moore, Derek Oberhelman, Mathew Francis, Irvin Gomez, Llan Martinez, Jessie Miller, Logan Leerar, Braden Walk, Matt Larson and Hugo Calles.

BRITT | Bob Sanger enters his 50th year as West Hancock’s track coach and he’ll be joined by assistant Matt Welp.

Last Year’s Eagles squad racked up accolades, as several athletes posted impressive seasons.

Departing star MaCoy Yeakel qualified for the 2018 Drake Relays in the long jump, but Josef Smith was the runner-up at the Top of Iowa Conference Track Meet. He’ll look to build on an impressive junior season.

Chandler Redenius finished fourth in the shot put at the conference meet, and the Eagles also had a pair of relay champs.

The Eagles have an impressive group of returners, as 12 athletes were letter winners last season. Three of those returners are seniors: Gavin Becker, Bennett Bruns and Caleb Eckels.

In total, the team has 36 members.

“It will be an exciting year to work with these young men,” Welp said. “We see a lot of potential.”

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments