Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

North Iowans may be eligible for disaster loans

  • Updated
  • 0

MASON CITY | The U.S. Department of Agriculture has announced that physical loss loans are available for several North Iowa counties in Iowa, due to four separate disaster events. Farm operators who have suffered major physical losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, hail, high winds, lighting and tornadoes that occurred from June 22 through Aug. 18, 2017, may be eligible for emergency loans.

For the June 22 disaster event, an administrator’s physical loss Notification has been issued for Butler and Franklin counties as the primary damaged area.

Additionally, 10 Iowa counties are contiguous to this designated disaster area, making these producers also potentially eligible for programs based on this designation. Among them are Cerro Gordo,  Floyd, Hancock, and Wright counties.

Low-interest emergency loans may be made available to any applicant with a qualifying loss in the counties affected. Approval is limited to applicants who suffered severe physical losses only.


Producers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans for physical losses.


People who think they may be eligible should contact the FSA for more information. FSA office information is available at Additional FSA disaster assistance program information is available at


The business news you need

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News