FCHS State Large Group Speech

The following Forest City High School students were in groups that received Division I or II ratings at the State Large Group Speech Contest: back row, from left, Ethan Suby, Brady Anderson, Derek Garcia, Devin Alamsya, Drake Bang, Micah Lambert, Elijah Alsop, Riley Helgeson, Gabe Staudt, Carter Jenkins, and Micaiah Krutsinger; middle row, from left, Abbie Segerstrom, Anna Weaver, Taylor Tendall, Olivia Gayther, Keevan Jones, Reina Miller, Kennedy Baker, Meggie Kleveland, Emalee Warren, and Lyndee Jones; front row, from left, Zach Welton, Shad Wooge, Haley Wood, Vanessa Meyerhoff, Skylar Hall, Sophia Kudej, Maria Vazquez, Josie Edel, Hannah Bruns, and Brianna Carlson. Not pictured are Laura Harms, Matthew Rossmiller, Kimberly Lara, Dan Hovinga, Xavier Holland, Michael Olson, Melissa Wilson, Levi Wood, Heather Kite, Ian Bennett, Lillian Ruiter, Rachel Vogt, Alexander Perez, Alyssa Buffington, Anna Lehmann, Astrid Bergmann, Kailyn Corey, Andrew Hall, Cody Stricker, Michael Burns, Greta Oulman, Trey Blaser, Cora Holland, Ivy Olson, Jessa Loges, Olivia Sarasio Meyer, Sarah Hovinga, Brettin Linder, Alec Hill and Calvin Aberg. 

Nine groups from Forest City High School received Division I ratings at the Large Group State Speech Contest on Feb. 2 in Waterloo. 

Two of those groups received All-State honors.

The Varsity Choral Reading group consisting of Alec Hill, Alexandria Brahm, Brettin Linder, Calvin Aberg, Cora Holland, Devin Alamsya, Ethan Suby, Ivy Olson, Lyndee Jones, Madi Korthals, Micah Lambert, Micaiah Krutsinger, Riley Helgeson and Taylor Tendall, was nominated to perform the All-State Large Group Speech Festival on Feb. 16 at Iowa State University in Ames.

The JV Choral Reading group consisting of Abbie Segerstrom, Dan Hovinga, Haley Wood, Kailyn Corey, Keevan Jones, Raina Miller, Shad Wooge, Vanessa Meyerhoff and Zach Welton, was nominated as a non-performing All-State participant. 

Other groups from Forest City receiving Division I ratings at state were:

• Varsity One Act -- Elijah Alsop, Anna Weaver, Brettin Linder, Drake Bang, Emma Segerstrom, Ethan Suby, Josie Edel, Madi Korthals, Micah Lambert, Trey Blaser. 

• Varsity Musical Theatre -- Anna Weaver, Cora Holland, Emma Segerstrom, Josie Edel, Sarah Hovinga. 

• Varsity Radio Broadcasting -- Greta Oulman, Heather Kite, Ivy Olson, Jessa Loges, Olivia Sarasio Meyer, Xavier Holland. 

• Varsity Improv -- Derek Garcia, Skylar Hall, Sophia Kudej.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

• Varsity Improv -- Brianna Carlson, Carter Jenkins, Greta Oulman, Levi Wood. 

• Varsity Ensemble -- Brady Anderson, Emmalee Warren, Kennedy Baker, Meggie Kleveland, Olivia Gayther.

• Varsity Short Film -- Cody Stricker, Michael Burns.

The following groups received Division II ratings at state:

• Varsity Readers Theatre -- Alec Hill, Alexander Perez, Alyssa Buffington, Anna Lehmann, Astrid Bergmann, Brady Anderson, Elijah Alsop, Hannah Bruns, Heather Kite, Ian Bennett, Lillian Ruiter, Maria Vazquez, Rachel Vogt, Taylor Tendall.

• Varsity Musical Theatre -- Alexandria Brahm, Brianna Carlson, Levi Wood, Meggie Kleveland, Micaiah Krutsinger, Olivia Gayther.

• Varsity TV News -- Laura Harms, Matthew Rossmiller, Melissa Wilson, Michael Olson, Xavier Holland.

• JV Readers Theatre -- Dan Hovinga, Haley Wood, Kimberly Lara, Raina Miller, Vanessa Meyerhoff, Zach Welton.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments