Class 3A, District 5

Mason City sending four to state

CEDAR RAPIDS | Four from Mason City guaranteed tickets to state on Saturday.

Cullan Schriever, the defending Class 3A champion at 106 pounds, beat Prairie's Austin Kegley. Colby Schriever (126), scored a 3-0 decision over Waverly-Shell Rock's Evan Yant in the finals.

Luke Deinhart (152) was pinned by Waverly-Shell Rock's Jacob Herrmann in the finals. Heavyweight Troy Monahan was pinned by Josh Vis of Cedar Rapids Kennedy in the finals. The pair of Mohawks each wound up with second-places finishes to earn their trip to Wells Fargo Arena next week.

Other placewinners for Mason City were Connor Wiemann (4th, 113), Christian Rodriguez (4th, 120), Evan Craw (3rd, 170), Kj Barkema (5th, 182) and Jeff Shurtz (3rd, 220).

Class 1A, District 3

Lake Mills piles up state qualifiers

MANSON | Lake Mills will send six wrestlers to Des Moines. The Bulldogs got district titles from Caiden Jones (113), Tyler Helgeson (120), and Gabe Irons at 195 pounds. Second-place qualifiers included Jack Ramaker (106), Casey Hanson (132) and Elijah Wagner (160).

Newman Catholic punched three tickets to state. Junior Jacob McBride (126) won by 11-2 major decision over Belmond-Klemme's Logan Heaberlin.

Juniors Kameron Black (145) and Chase McCleish (170) would also go undefeated to secure their first trips to state. Black pinned Emmetsburg sophomore Bret Hoyman for the district title, while McCleish won by 10-3 decision over Eagle Grove's Brayden Lyman.

"I saw all three of them smile, the assistant coaches saw it too," head coach Mark Bertsch said. "Kameron and Chase don’t show a lot of emotion, just makes it worth it when you’re coaching." 

West Hancock's Tate Hagen won a district title at 160. Hunter Hagen (195) finished second.

Belmond-Klemme will send wrestlers Logan Heaberlin (126), Tucker Kroeze (182) and Cameron Beminio (285) to state. 

Other placewinners were Dalton Subject (4th, 145, West Hancock), Drae Love (4th, 152, Lake Mills), Caleb Eckels (4th, 182, West Hancock) and Max Johnson (3rd, 220, Lake Mills).

Class 1A, District 6

Area wrestlers punch tickets to state at Luther

DECORAH | Eight area wrestlers advanced to state at Saturday's district meet on the Luther College campus.

Nashua-Plainfield's Brock Dietz (106) finished first, as did Cameron Rasing (160) of Rockford, Zach Ryg (182) of Central Springs and Zack Santee (220) of Central Springs.

Second-place qualifiers were Jakob Whitinger (113, Nashua-Plainfield), Chance Throndson (145, Riceville), Brandon Trees (2nd, North Butler-Clarksville) and Nathan Dettmer (2nd, Nashua-Plainfield).

Other placewinners were Carter Pals (3rd, 120, Central Springs), Caden Schrage (3rd, 126, Northwood-Kensett), Trevor Brinkman (4th, 126, North Butler-Clarksville), Devan Hackenmiller (4th, 132, St. Ansgar), Trevor Johnson (3rd, 138, Rockford), Tristen Brase (145, 3rd, Nashua-Plainfield), C.J. Niedert (4th, 152, North Butler-Clarksville), Dayton Smith (4th, 182, St. Ansgar), Trace Engel (3rd, 220, North Butler-Clarksville), Teddy Behrens (4th, 285, Central Springs).

Class 2A, District 8

Algona's Devine heading to state

WEBSTER CITY | Carson Devine punched his ticket to state at 170 pounds with a first-place finish on Saturday. He posted a 9-3 decision over Webster City's Zane Williams in the final.

Other placewinners for Algona were Luke McKenna (4th, 120), Cole Johnson (4th, 138), Austin Chase (4th, 152), Calvin Kruse (3rd, 182), Noah Murphy (4th, 195) and Dominick Etherington (3rd, 285).


Load comments