ST. ANSGAR | It was another special season in St. Ansgar, and the postseason rewards showed that off as four Saints were named to Iowa Newspaper Association all-state teams. Dayotn Smith and Dylan Bissen were each second-team selections while Noah Bishop and Joash Van Vliet were named to the third team.

Smith led the Saints with 1,590 yards and 23 touchdowns on 244 carries, which was good enough for 6.5 yards per tote. Bissen was one of those clearing the way for Smith to do his thing as the lineman helped the Saints pile up 4,634 total yards.

Bishop was the Saints’ top defensive lineman all season as he finished with 52 1/2 tackles, including eight solo tackles for a loss and 1/2 a sack. Van Vliet added 51 1/2 tackles of his own, which included eight solo for a loss.