OSAGE — On Wednesday, Oct. 18, Shop on State awarded $53,693.34 to 52 non-profit organizations, during its final grant awards ceremony.

Earlier in the month, Shop on State board members announced the shop's last day of operation will be Tuesday, Oct. 31, when its lease expires.

Since its opening in May 2009, Shop on State grant awards have totaled $$503,040.39 to 117 non-profits across Mitchell County. The shop is located in the former Washington School on South Seventh Street, Osage.

The overwhelming success of this donation-based thrift store prompted a move in October 2013 to the large space at the school.

Organizations receiving funds included:

Cedar River Complex, City of Osage Park and Recreation (2), Derby Devils, Inc., Elf Shop, Evergreen Independent Living, Good Samaritan Society, "O" Show-Iowa Big North, Mitchell County Concert Association, Mitchell County Food Bank, Mitchell County Fine Arts, Mitchell County Trap Range/Team, Mitchell County Economic Development, Nissan Public Library, North Iowa Community Action - Bridges Mentoring, Osage Conservation Club, Osage Robotics, Osage Senior Citizens, Osage Public Library, Osage Schools - Lincoln (2), Osage Middle School (3), Osage Schools, Riceville Athletic Booster Club, Riceville - RAD, Riceville Community Club, Riceville Community Daycare, Riceville Food Pantry, Riceville Family Care and Therapy Center, Riceville Schools - Elementary, Riceville Schools - Art, Riceville Schools - FACS Department, Riceville Schools - Library, Riceville Schools - TAG, Riceville Schools (2), Riceville Schools - Travel Club, Riceville Schools - Music, Riceville Schools - Title I, Riceville Schools - Athletics, Riceville Community Foundation, St. Ansgar - Art & Nature, St. Ansgar Garden Club, St. Ansgar Chamber, St. Ansgar Fire Department, St. Ansgar Historic School Project, St. Ansgar Schools, Stacyville Community Nursing Home Auxiliary, Stacyville Public Library.

Individual award amounts were not released.

Due to the closing of the shop, donations are no longer being accepted.

Chris Fannin is the Shop on State manager under the direction of a five-member board of directors. Board members are Sister Millie Leuenberger, OSF, Stacyville, president; Mary Fisk, Osage, secretary; Betty Borchardt, Riceville, treasurer; Gary Gilbert, Osage, and Holly Schwarck, St. Ansgar.