OSAGE | The Mitchell County Board of Supervisors held its first meeting of the new year, and with it came the appointment of a new board chair and the resignation of Supervisor Shannon Paulus, who was selected to fill the recently vacated spot of county treasurer. In additions, new appointments to many committees were made during the re-organizational meeting.

In a motion made by 2017 Chair Joel Voaklander, District 3 Supervisor Stan Walk was named the 2018 chairperson of the board with District 1 Supervisor Joel Voaklander serving as vice chair.

In addition, the board established county committees and board appointments for the upcoming year. While Paulus, the new treasurer, will continue to serve on the Sister City Committee and the Mitchell County Historical Preservation Committee, the new supervisor will take her place on a variety of other committees once appointed.

Approval was given to raise the per-mileage reimbursement as established by the federal government from 53.5 to 54.5 cents per mile.

In reference to budget planning, board members approved a 1-cent increase in NIACOG dues to 76 cents per capita or $3,533.24; and increased Region 2 Transit Assessment to $1.58 per capita or $17,026.08. NCRERC dues stayed the same at 70 cents per capita or $7,543.20.

In addition, board members approved their office schedule for the coming year as follows - Monday, Voaklander; Wednesday, new appointee; Friday, Walk.

Weekly meetings will continue to be held at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesdays in the supervisors’ office located in the basement of the Mitchell County Courthouse.

In addition, the supervisors approved the matrix resolution for 2018.