On Saturday, Feb. 3, several Mitchell County high school students competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association’s State Large Group Contest at Decorah High School.

Students from all three Mitchell County high schools qualified for the state contest after receiving a Division I – excellent rating – at their respective district contests held on Saturday, Jan. 20.

Results from the day were as follows

Osage High School and their respective categories - Group Improvisatison - Macy Ott, Jenna Plotzke, Seth Phillips - Division I and All-State Selection; Group Improvisation - Chase Halbach, Mitchell Christensen - Division II; Group Improvisation - Savannah Williams, Corin Johanns, and Erica Nasstrom - Division I; Ensemble Acting - Hailey Gentz and Seth Phillips - Division I and All-State Selection; Choral Reading - Joan Grimm, Desiree Chanel, Claire Sullivan, Gillian Johanns and Corin Johanns - Division II; Radio News Broadcasting - Chase Halbach, Zach Duren and Rafe Miller - Division I; Group Mime - Desiree Chanel, Gillian Johanns, Claire Sullivan - Division I; Short Film - Macy Ott, Hailey Gentz, Rafe Miller and Zach Duren - Division I; JV Short Film - Gwen Voaklander, Emily Maliszewski, Abbigayle Rodemaker, Grace Mallory, Jillian Butner, Kiersten Panovec, and Abigail Cockrum - Division II.

Representing St. Ansgar High School - Group Improvisation - Theo Baldus, Harmony Clark, Jade Thomas and Abby Wold - Division II; Group Improvisation - Christian Eckard, Jadyn North and Josh Staley - Division II; Group Improvisation - Matt Gilmore, Uziel Mendoz and Sarah Phelps - Division II; Musical Theatre - Shaw Hulshizer, Xavier Patterson and Bryan Schmidt - Division II; Short Film - Harmony Clark, Matt Gilmore, Shaw Hulshizer, Uziel Mendoza and Josh Staley - Division II; Group Mime - Theo Baldus, Sarah Phelps, Jade Thomas and Abby Wold - Division II.

Representing Riceville High School - JV Ensemble Acting: Callee Fair, Watson Fair, Gabe Mueller and Aubrey Orth - Division I.