Municipal Band.jpg

The Clear Lake Municipal Band plays a concert on a warm Sunday summer afternoon.

FILE PHOTO

North Iowa is known for its love of music — from the legacy of The Music Man Meredith Willson, to the annual North Iowa Band Festival, to numerous award-winning high school bands, choirs, choruses and orchestras.

Perhaps nothing fits the iconic image of an idyllic musical evening as does the summer municipal band concert.

Players from all walks of life — but all united by a love of and a proficiency for band music — gather on pleasant summer evenings or weekends to perform for their fellow community residents an eclectic selection of old standards, rousing marches and even new pop hits.

Here is a schedule of community bands that will be performing this summer in North Iowa.

Mason City Municipal Band

Concerts will be at the plaza north of Southbridge Mall unless otherwise listed.

Friday, May 26 — 6:30 p.m., North Iowa Band Festival

Thursday, June 1 — 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, June 8 — 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 10 — 4 p.m., MacNider Art Museum for MacNider Arts Festival

Thursday, June 15 — 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, June 22 — 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, June 29 — 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 3 — 9 p.m., Mohawk Stadium for Mason City Exchange Club Independence Day Celebration

Thursday, July 6 — 7:30 p.m.

Clear Lake Municipal Band

All concerts at City Park.

Saturday, June 10 — 7 p.m.

Sunday, June 11 — 3 p.m.

Saturday, June 24 — 7 p.m.

Sunday, June 25 — 3 p.m.

Tuesday, July 4 — 8 p.m.

Sunday, July 9 — 3 p.m.

Saturday, July 15 — 7 p.m.

Sunday, July 16 — 3 p.m.

Hampton Municipal Band

Concerts at the band shell in Hampton City Park.

Wednesday, May 31 — 8 p.m.

Tuesday, June 6 — 8 p.m.

Tuesday, June 13 — 8 p.m.

Tuesday, June 20 — 8 p.m.

Tuesday, June 27 — 8 p.m.

Monday, July 3 — 8 p.m., Franklin County Fairgrounds

Tuesday, July 11 — 8 p.m.

Charles City Municipal Band

Concerts in Central Park unless otherwise noted.

Sunday, June 4 — 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 18 — 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 4 — 7:30 p.m., behind Charles City Public Library. 

0
0
0
0
0

Load comments